TOKEN TALKS : Michael Fox

.

“Like many Aussie kids, I was lucky enough to start Surf Life Saving at a young age. This took over my young life and produced the competitive side in me pretty quickly.”

.

Michael Fox Win in NowraWe are doing a series of interviews called ‘TOKEN Talks’ with people in the Token family. Today we are talking to our Sponsored Hero, Australian Michael Fox, who joined the Token family not long ago. Michael probably fits the stereotype many of us have about Aussies.  He grew up near the ocean and the beach, spends his free time surfing and is a pretty laid back kind of guy. However, after talking with Michael you get the sense that behind that laid back approach is a man with drive and a passion to be the best he can, but he’s not going to shout about it himself, that’s not what blokes do.  He sums it up best in this quote,

“I guess not everyday is going to be a winner. You can’t always be at your best. But, you still need to chip away because someone else is out there having a good day.”

Michael is a triathlete and PDHPE teacher from Cronulla. He has been doing triathlons for around 3 years and 2012 was his first year racing as a professional triathlete. He started out doing Surf Life Saving as a child, but always had an interest in giving triathlons a go. He gave the Australian Aquathlon Championship a go when it was in Cronulla. Not long after he bought his first bike he was hooked.

Here’s Michael in his own words…..

.

The Basics

AustraliaName : Michael Fox

D.O.B. : 13.12.1988

Nationality : Australian

Height & Weight : 179cm / 73kg

Team : High Performance Tri. http://www.highperformancetri.com.

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

“Laid-back, Stubborn, Individual.”

Which Token products are you currently using?

“Wheels: C580A Wheelset and DT58 disc wheel.” 

What are your race results for the past year?

  • 2nd Sydney Olympic Distance Triathlon
  • 3rd Forster Ultimate Triathlon
  • 3rd Wollongong Olympic Distance Triathlon
  • 4th Nepean Triathlon
  • 4th Kansas City 5150 Triathlon, USA
  • 6th Boulder Peak 5150 Triathlon, USA
  • 6th New Orleans 5150 Triathlon, USA
  • 7th Giant Eagle 5150 Triathlon, USA
  • 7th Lake Stevens Ironman 70.3, USA
  • 10th Boise Ironman 70.3, USA
  •  23rd HyVee 5150 U.S.A Championship
.

Family Life

“My childhood memories revolve a lot around the beach.

Cronulla Beach

Cronulla Beach :  http://nullafy.com

.

Tell us a little about your family life.  What things do you enjoy doing with your family when you are not racing or training?

“Love catching up with my family for coffee and it’s always nice to get a Surf in with my brother or spend time down at the beach.”

Tell us about your childhood and where you grew up.

“My childhood memories revolve a lot around the beach. My family live in a beach side suburb of Cronulla now, just south of Sydney. Even before that we were never far from the beach. Like many Aussie kids, I was lucky enough to start Surf Life Saving at a young age. This took over my young life and produced the competitive side in me pretty quickly. It wasn’t until I was 19 that I decided Triathlon was something I wanted to pursue.”

What are your hobbies and interests outside of cycling?

“Surfing, Coffee and Travelling.”

.

Inspiration

“The only place success come before work is in the dictionary.” 
– Vince Lombardi.

.

Michael Fox (Large)What or who inspires you?

“I suppose this one changes as I go through different stages. But, basically anyone who is willing to have a crack at chasing a goal.”

What’s your favorite quote?

“The only place success come before work is in the dictionary.” – Vince Lombardi.

Who is your hero? Why?

“Craig Alexander is an inspiration. I love the no rubbish approach and the fact that when he is racing he is always the man to watch.”

What is your dream?

“To one day hold a Triathlon World Title. I’m not picky, I like all types of Triathlon for different reasons.”

.

Training & Nutrition

I train anywhere from 15-30hrs a week depending on the
time of the season, races, work and family commitments.

.

Nepean Run 2What does your training schedule look like?  Tell us how often you train, how you train and where you train.

“I train anywhere from 15-30hrs a week depending on the time of the season, races, work and family commitments. I train with High Performance Tri based in the Sutherland Shire. Our training is very mixed and thats how I like it. We have everything from long rides and track runs to transition sessions and recovery sessions”

What’s your favourite food?

“Pasta, But the US have started to convert my favourite to Chocolate Brownies!”

What’s your least favourite food?

“Tomato! Once its on your food it just wrecks everything. Even if you remove it the taste is still there from the juices. Cant do it!.”

What’s your favourite drink?

“Coke! Saved me many times.”

What do you eat before a big race?

“Cereal, Banana or a Muffin.”

What do you eat after a race?

“Fatty Food. I am known for a regular post race McDonalds stop.”

Have you ever made any mistakes with your nutrition?  If yes, what was it and what did you learn from it?

“Yes! I guess at Hy-Vee this year being a late afternoon race and very hot with a more technical course I didn’t drink enough. My body really started shutting down by the final stages of the run. Next time, I will be far more mindful of getting extra hydration in on the straighter strips of the course.

What do you eat/drink while riding?

“Training- Water, Muesli Bars.”

“Racing- Sports Drink and Gels.”

Do you have any tips on nutrition or training that you would like to share?

“I guess not everyday is going to be a winner. You can’t always be at your best. But, you still need to chip away because someone else is out there having a good day.

.

Something Different

“I’d be a Shark. I love the Ocean and they are the top of the food chain.”

.

The_PhantomWhat’s your favourite colour?

“Blue.”

What’s your favourite movie?

“Not really a big movie watcher. Maybe the Hangover.”

If you won US$20,000,000 what would you do with it?

“Buy everyone in my family a house and car then invest the rest to try and produce more while I continue to travel the world racing….I’ve thought about this way too much.”

If you could be any super hero, who would you be? Why?

“The Phantom because he is a hero who has no supernatural powers. An everyday hero.”

If you could be an animal which animal would you be? Why?

“I’d be a Shark. I love the Ocean and they are the top of the food chain.”

Tell us something embarrassing that happened to you.

“Learning to ride with cleats. I was waving to a friend then realised the lights turned red and I hadn’t clipped out so I fell off in front of their car.”

Have you ever done anything crazy in your life?  Tell us about it.

“Not Really. I guess I went to the US with $4000 in my account and had to survive for 4 months.”

What kind of cell phone do you have?

“iPhone.”

.

Thanks Michael for taking the time to talk to us. Michael is taking part in the Auckland 70.3 this weekend, so we wish him all the best for that.

If you are living in Australia or New Zealand and want to find out more about Token products in your area please contact our distributor, Bike International, who will be happy to assist you.

Bike International Limited

-Physical and Courier Address-
44E Dalgety Drive
Manukau City
Auckland
New Zealand

-Postal Address-
P.O Box 76091, Manukau 2241,
Auckland

Tel:  +64 9 2671245
Fax: +64 9 2673032
web: www.bikesinternational.co.nz

Tags:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fox Finishes Fourth in Japan 70.3 | Token Products - 06/23/2013

    […] TOKEN Talks : Michael Fox : http://tokenbikeproducts.com/2013/01/18/token-talks-michael-fox/ […]

  2. Foxy Letter: Michael Updates Us | Token Products - 10/01/2013

    […] http://tokenbikeproducts.com/2013/01/18/token-talks-michael-fox/ […]

Share Your Thoughts With Us

