TOKEN TALKS : Tony Smith (Team Pista Elite)

.

cldtlon4

“My dream is to give my best to everything I do and when my time is
over to leave the world a better place for my having been a part of it.

.

We are doing a series of interviews called ‘TOKEN Talks with people in the Token family. Today we are talking to Tony Smith of Team Pista Elite in the USA. Tony has been cycling competitively since he was 13 years old and in that time has achieved a lot both professionally and personally. It is distinctively clear that Tony is very dedicated and as he puts it, relentless, in the pursuit of his dreams. With a loving and supportive wife, seven children,his regular job as a practicing lawyer, and training for competitions, Tony is a busy, but very passionate man. He said that his dream is to give his best to everything he does and when his time is over to leave the world a better place for having been a part of it.  After reading this interview you will have no doubt that Tony has already made his mark on the world. At Token, we are extremely proud to be associated with him and the rest of the Pista Elite Team. Thank you Tony for your support and dedication to date and all the very best for your future accomplishments.

For more information about Pista Elite you can visit the team website @ http://www.pistaelite.com

.

The Basics

TonySmith1Name : Anthony “Tony” Smith

D.O.B. : 28.02.1959

Nationality : United States

Height & Weight : 6’1 / 185lbs

Team : Pista Elite

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

“Outgoing, competitive, relentless.”

Which Token products are you currently using?

  • Token Corsa Road bike with Token shifting and brakes and Token T50 or C30A wheels.
  • Token Momenta Time Trial bike with Token shifting and Token rear disc, quad front.
  • Token Carbon Track bike with T85 track wheelset, also Token rear disc, and quad front used for individual pursuit, Token cogs and chainrings.
  • Token T50 or C30A wheels and Token shifting (1×10) on cyclocross bike.
  • Token wheels, shifting, and cranks on Mountain bike.

What are your race results for the past year?

“2012 was a partial season for me because my wife and I got a beautiful late in life suprise, a baby boy and my wife almost died in childbirth. So I was not able to defend my National Championship or compete at Worlds. Nonetheless, I placed 2nd in the Virginia State Championship Roadrace, 2nd in the Michigan State Championship Roadrace, 2nd in the Michigan State Time Trial, 2nd in the 500 Meters in the Ohio State Track Cycling Championship, and 3rd in the Ohio State Track Cycling Championship in the pursuit and the Omnium. I also achieved my goal of qualifying for the 2013 US National Championship Senior Games in both the Road Race and Time Trial.

In 2011 I had the privilege of winning the Team Pursuit event in the Elite Men division at the ABR/Fiac National Track Cycling Championship riding on the same team as my third son, Braden. It was truly wonderful to be able to race with my son and achieve that result together.

It is my intention to compete in the US National Championship Senior Games in the Road Race and Time Trial, The USAC National Track Cycling Championship for both Masters and Elite Men, and the ABR Fiac National Track Cycling Championship for both Masters and Elite Men in 2013. I am also contemplating entering the 2013 World Masters Games in Torino Italy.”

.

Family Life

cleveland

In 2011 I had the privilege of winning the Team Pursuit event in the Elite Men division at the ABR/Fiac National Track Cycling Championship riding on the same team as my third son, Braden. It was truly wonderful to be able to race with my son and achieve that result together.”

.

Tell us a little about your family life.  What things do you enjoy doing with your family when you are not racing or training?

“I am married and my wife Kathryn and I have 7 children ranging in age from 5 months to 24 years. My oldest son Bryan and his wife just had their first child and I am now also a grandfather. We enjoy movies, nature walks, and all things Disney.”

Tell us about your childhood and where you grew up.

“I grew up in Cleveland, Ohio USA.  I have 2 brothers and 2 sisters.  In my youth I was an excellent student and also competed in most every sport available to me including American Football, baseball, track and field, basketball, and ice hockey.  I was introduced to competitive cycling at age 13 (first licensed at age 14) by Johnny van Diest who was a former professional track cyclist who lived in the neighborhood and who was Torchy Peden’s madison partner.”

What are your hobbies and interests outside of cycling?

“I enjoy reading, movies, spending time with my wife and children. I am a practicing lawyer, which in the United States includes both the functions of a barrister and solicitor. “

.

Inspiration

What or who inspires you?

“My wife, Kathryn, her passion, love and kindness always give me a safe place to land.”

What’s your favorite quote?

“Fill your life with love and bravery and you will lead a life uncommon.”

Who is your hero? Why?

“Temudjin (Ghengis Khan) because of his stand on social issues such as adoption and illegitmate children, his accomplishments, and most of all because of his relationship with and loyalty to his wife Borte.”

What is your dream?

“To give my best to everything I do and when my time is over to leave the world a better place for my having been a part of it.”

.

Fill your life with love and bravery and you will lead a life uncommon”

.

Don’t worry mother, it’ll be alright
And don’t worry sister, say your prayers and sleep right
It’ll be fine lover of mine
It’ll be just fine
Lend your voices only to sounds of freedom
No longer lend you strength to that which you wish to be free from
Fill your lives with love and bravery
And you shall lead a life uncommon

.

Thanks again to Tony for taking the time to talk to us.  Dont forget to check out Team Pista Elite @  http://www.pistaelite.com.

.

Token North America

If you are living in North America and would like more information on Token products you can contact our North American distributor, Tufo North America Inc.

Tufo North America Inc.

North America618 Fairway Lane
Nelson, BC
V1L 5V1, Canada
Tel: +1-250-352-3266
Toll free: 866-869-5285
Fax:+1-250-352-3247

Web: www.tufonorthamerica.com
Web: www.tufonorthamerica.biz

.

Tags:

Share Your Thoughts With Us

