TOKEN TALKS : Rafael Farnezi

.
.

“My family made who I am today. The whole structure and support
needed 
to pursue my dreams exists thanks to my family and friends.”

.

We are doing a series of interviews called ‘TOKEN Talks’ with people in the Token family. In the chair today we have Rafael Farnezi, one of our Sponsored Heroes. From watching the video above, Cinderella, you get a sense of the amount of effort and focus required to be one of the top athletes in the world. For all the women out there who’ve just finished watching the video, you can take a short break and go cool down somewhere after witnessing Rafael’s toned muscular physique! For any couch potatoes out there, you’ve just found your motivation to get out and get healthy!

Rafael grew up in a quiet neighborhood, playing in the streets with friends and coming home to a loving family each day. His hobbies have always involved sports. That, combined with the support of his friends and family have most definitely contributed to his success as a triathlete.

You’ll no doubt have noticed that we like quotes and Rafael’s favorite quote sums up not only his own approach to life, but a lesson we can all take away in how to live well, strive for your goals and build your dreams. Spoken by the king of the hoops himself, Michael Jordan.

“One step at a time. I can not imagine any other way to accomplish something.”

Here’s Rafael in his own words….

.

The Basics

RafaelNameRafael de Carvalho Farnezi

D.O.B. :  06.23.1986

Nationality : Brazil

Height & Weight : 186cm / 82kg

.

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

“Focus. Strength. Determination.”

What are your race results for the past year?

  • 1st in 1st stage of Brazil Cup Triathlon.
  • 1st in 4th stage of Brazil Cup Triathlon.
  • 1st in 5th stage of Brazil Cup Triathlon.
  • 1st in 6th stage of Brazil Cup Triathlon.
  • 1st in Brazil Cup Triathlon of 2012.
  • 1st in 1st stage of Brazilian Championship Triathlon.
  • 3rd in 2nd stage of Brazilian Championship Triathlon. 
  • 1st in the national ranking triathlon of 2012.

What Token Products are you currently using?

  • Double Road Alloy Integrated Crankset.
  • Integrated Bottom Bracket
  • Ultra Lite Carbon Road Racing Bar
  • Ultra Lite Carbon Marble/ Alloy Stem
  • Alloy Spacer
  • Alloy Top Cap Set
  • CNC Alloy Pulley
  • Valve Caps
  • Super Rim Tape for 700C Rims
  • Running Belt Set
  • Podium Cap
  • Draw String Cloth Bag
  • Road Bike Bling Box
  • Alloy Chain Drop Catcher
.

Family Life

flag

I grew up in a very quiet neighborhood, where I played a
lot on the street with neighbors all afternoon after school.

.

Tell us a little about your family life.  What things do you enjoy doing with your family when you are not racing or training?

“My family made who I am today. The whole structure and support needed to pursue my dreams exists thanks to my family and friends. When I’m not racing or training I like to lunch with all my relatives, play video-game with my cousins, watch movies with my girlfriend and play with my dog.”

Tell us about your childhood and where you grew up.

“I grew up in a very quiet neighborhood, where I played a lot on the street with neighbors all afternoon after school. Certainly enjoyed my childhood in this special place.”

What are your hobbies and interests outside of cycling?

“My hobbies always relate to sports. When I’m not involved with my bike I like to practice outdoor activities like slack line, open water swimming, running, skateboarding … Finally, I like everything that involves movement.”

.

Inspiration

“My dream is to make my way better, not only for me, not only in sports,
but for everyone around me. This is what I chase” 

.

michael-jordan-obstaclesWhat or who inspires you?

“People who have overcome and conquered in their lives inspire me. For example, Ayrton Senna, Rick and Dick Royt, Craig Alexander, Mark Alen, Dave Scott, Michael Phelps, Michael Jordan, Roger Federer, Crhis MacCormack and many others. Good examples are never too many.”

What’s your favorite quote?

“One step at a time. I can not imagine any other way to accomplish something. – Michael Jordan” 

Who is your hero? Why?

“Alistair Brownlee. Because he can be the best at what he does and can make it appear that everything is very simple.”

What is your dream?

“My dream is to make my way better, not only for me, not only in sports, but for everyone around me. This is what I chase.”

.

Something Different

farnezi-ok2

“One of the happiest moments of my life was in 2011 when
I won the triathlon world title in Beijing in China.

.

What’s your favourite colour?

“Black and White.”

What’s your favourite movie?

“Star Wars.”

If you won US$20,000,000 what would you do with it?

“I’d buy all the equipment I need, the best, without worrying about the value and travel to attend the biggest and best competitions, not only in my country but around the world.”

What makes you angry?

“Lazy people and grudgingly.

If you could be any super hero, who would you be? Why?

“Super-Man. Because he is strong and fast and can still fly.”

Tell us something embarrassing that happened to you.

“I would like to be a Hawk. Because he can fly high and still manages to hunt precisely and almost without errors.

Tell us a joke.

The father calls his son to a conversation:

 FATHER : “Son, your teacher said that of the 20 students in the classroom, you’re the worst.”

 SON : “It could be worse father.”

FATHER : “How worse, boy?”

SON : “Hey, the class could have 40 students.”

Tell us about a really happy moment in your life.

“One of the happiest moments of my life was in 2011 when I won the triathlon world title in Beijing in China.”

Tell us about something embarrassing that happened to you.

“An embarrassing moment was when I missed a flight in my town and I was already inside the departure lounge reading a book and did not realize that the plane had already taken off.”

Have you ever done anything crazy in your life? Tell us about it.

“One crazy thing I ever did was rappel down a waterfall almost 100m tall.”

What kind of cell phone do you have?

“I have an iPhone 3.”

.

Training & Nutrition

Do not expect to feel hungry during a workout or a race,
make a meal plan and follow it just right.

.

What does your training schedule look like?  Tell us how often you train, how you train and where you train.

“My workouts are a routine several times a week, a total of 13. I switch between them swimming, cycling and running. I train in some clubs in my city, in the streets, on the highways and dirt roads.”

watermelon carvingWhat’s your favourite food?

“My favourite food is pasta.”

What’s your least favourite food?

“My least food is fried foods.”

What’s your favourite drink?

“My favourite drink is water.”

What do you eat before a big race?

“Before a big race I always eat bread.”

What do you eat after a race?

“After race I eat watermelon.”

Have you ever made any mistakes with your nutrition?  If yes, what was it and what did you learn from it?

“No. I try to control myself all the time, especially in competitive periods.

What do you eat/drink while riding?

“I drink water and carb-drink. To eat I carry with me carb gel, bananas and salt capsule.”

Do you have any tips on nutrition or training that you would like to share?

“Do not expect to feel hungry during a workout or a race, make a meal plan and follow it just right. In relation to training, train hard, because in a competition we don’t have space for mistakes, so if it’s to make mistakes, mistake in training to learn and not repeat it again.”

.

Token Brazil

Thanks again to Rafael for taking the time to talk with us today. If you are in Brazil and looking to find out more information about Token and how our products can help you achieve your goals please get in touch with Gabriel and his team at Pedalativo.

Central & South America

Pedal Ativo

Rua Abdalla Haddad 221
Aparecida Uberlandia,
MG 38400-232, Brazilil

Tel: +34 3210-9366
Web : http://www.tokenproducts.com.br

.

Tags:

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts With Us

