TOKEN TALKS : Simon Agoston

Simon 1-2 (Large)“I was born in Hungary. I started swimming when I was 9 years old
and I started doing triathlon when I turned 18 years old.”

We are doing a series of interviews called ‘TOKEN Talks’ with people in the Token family. Under the spotlight today is Austrian, Simon Agoston. Currently residing in Thailand and basking in the tropical climate there he is making a comeback after retiring from the sport following the Beijing Olympic Games. Despite being out of action for the last few years his comeback has been strong, earning him a 1st place at the Huan Hin triathlon. In 2013 we are looking forward to seeing him on the podium a lot more.

Here’s Simon in his own words…..

The Basics

0260_06356 Name : Simon Agoston

D.O.B. : 04.05.1977

Nationality : Austria (I am currently living in Thailand.)

Height & Weight : 179cm / 64kg

Team : I am not part of a team at the moment.

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

“Persistent, Humble, Honest.”

Which Token products are you currently using?

“Token Corsa Bike.” 

What are your race results for the past year?

“After the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games I retired for 3.5 years. I started training again 7 months ago. Since then my race results are:”

  • 1st place Hua Hin Triathlon
  • 5 th place Laguna Phuket Triathlon
  • 5 th place 70.3 Ironman Phuket

Family Life

Thailand

Tell us a little about your family life.  What things do you enjoy doing with your family when you are not racing or training?

“My father and mother live in Hungary, my brother lives in India and is working as a cricket coach. I don’t have a family yet here in Thailand.”

Tell us about your childhood and where you grew up.

“I was born in Hungary. I started swimming when I was 9 years old and I started doing triathlon when I turned 18 years old.”

What are your hobbies and interests outside of cycling?

“I like to relax, read a book, listen to music, go out into nature, and meditating.”

Inspiration

What or who inspires you?

“My father. He was a talented runner when he was young but he doesn’t have enough money so he has had to give up the sport.”

Who is your hero? Why?

“I respect quite a lot of people and I have learned a lot from them, but I don’t have a hero.”

What is your dream?

“I don’t have a dream as a triathlete, I just enjoy the sport.”

Training & Nutrition

0260_19450What does your training schedule look like?  Tell us how often you train, how you train and where you train.

“I train 2-3 times a day. I swim and bike 5 times a week. I swim 4-5 km, bike 40km-130km and run 15km-30km. Intensity varies.”

What’s your favourite food?

“I like Italian and Thai food.”

What’s your least favourite food?

“I don’t have any foods I don’t like.”

What’s your favourite drink?

“Fresh fruit juice.”

What do you eat before a big race?

“Banana, bread and honey, Weetabix. About 600-800 cal.”

What do you eat after a race?

“Fruit, pasta, and plenty of fish or chicken.”

Have you ever made any mistakes with your nutrition?  If yes, what was it and what did you learn from it?

“In the beginning of my career of course I made many mistakes like not drinking enough, eating too much the night before a race, and also during a race I didn’t take any energy gel.

What do you eat/drink while riding?

“I always ride with 2 bottles. One is pure water, and the other one is a mix of electrolyte and glucose.”

Do you have any tips on nutrition or training that you would like to share?

“For long bike training sessions of 4 hours I always bring some food like bananas, chocolate, or energy gels. I also take some money as well in case I need to buy more food. I usually start eating after an hour and a half.

Something Different

“I have had a lot of happy moments while travelling (races,training camps etc.) I have visited more than 40 countries just because of the sport.”

What’s your favourite colour?

“Blue.”

What’s your favourite movie?

“Blow.”

If you won US$20,000,000 what would you do with it?

“I honestly have no idea. I’d need to think long and hard about it.”

What makes you angry?

“If someone is incorrect.”

If you could be an animal which animal would you be?

“A bird.”

Tell us something embarrassing that happened to you.

“In 2003 when I went to the World Cup Race in Mexico my bike didn’t arrive, so I couldn’t race. My bike actually disappeared for 3 whole months, but when I finally took the matter to court the airline found it within three days.”

Tell us about a really happy moment in your life.

“I have had a lot of happy moments while travelling (races,training camps etc.) I have visited more than 40 countries just because of the sport. The Beijing Olympic village was really special.”

Have you ever done anything crazy in your life?  Tell us about it.

“Once I didn’t eat for one week! I only drank water to clean my body. After the Olympics I went to Ibiza with my friend for a week and we partied for seven days non-stop!”

What kind of cell phone do you have?

“An old Nokia that I bought for US$15.”

Thanks Simon for taking the time to talk to us.  Wherever you are in the world and want to find out more about Token in your area please contact one of our distributors in your region who will be happy to assist you. Please click on the world map below to use our dealer locator tool.

world map_300(1)

Tags:

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts With Us

