Cameron’s Master Class

Shore-Break-Triathlon-1353-050

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you!

It was great starting off the season with a win in the 28th running of the Mount Maunganui Surf breaker Triathlon today. It’s been 11 years since I last raced here but I thought I needed to open up my lungs before the New Zealand Half Ironman Championships next weekend at Mount Maunganui.

The swim bike and run are all flat out here with a 750m surf swim, 18km bike along the Mount foreshore and a flat fast 5km run finishing with a 400m soft sand run. My form feels good a week out from the Half Ironman Champs and after a solid swim I took the lead a few kilometres into the bike leg and had a minute lead by the time we got back to T2. The 5km run was a lung buster trying to run flat out and shut the young brigade out. I just missed the race record by 15 seconds but won my 8th title at one of my favourite races in New Zealand. The next week will involve a small amount of training as I prepare for the 25th Anniversary of the Port of Tauranga Half Ironman. I’ll be in touch next week on how I go. Have a great New Years in the mean time, I’ll be having a quiet one!!!!

See you in 2014!

– Cameron Brown

28th Mount Maunganui Sprint Triathlon

1st Cameron Brown 48:23
2nd Kieran Mcpherson 49:07
3rd Sam Osborne 49:34

News Article

http://www.sunlive.co.nz/news/61082-brown-offers-triathlon-master-class.html

Tags:

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts With Us

